DRAFT – Bishop Kettler has NOT finalized or approved this concept or map at this time.

Area Catholic Communities


Every parish in the Diocese of Saint Cloud will be part of an Area Catholic Community consisting of two or more parishes in a given area. These communities are expected to collaborate to provide for the pastoral and spiritual needs of all in the given area based on the Catholic population. By sharing resources, talents, and efforts we hope to reenergize Catholics and help all parishes thrive in the Diocese of Saint Cloud.

  • Every Area Catholic Community will celebrate the [Sunday] Eucharist weekly
  • Every parishioner will have access to Sunday Eucharist within 25-30 miles
  • Priests will celebrate only 3 Masses on a given weekend (not including funerals/weddings) unless given special permission from the Bishop
  • Intentional collaboration between all area parishes will need to happen to meet the pastoral and spiritual needs of all
  • Every parish has something unique and special to bring to the area community
  • Priests, deacons and parish life coordinators together will need to play an important role in providing the leadership for all the needs of the area community
  • Laity who serve in professional roles (pastoral associate, catechetical leaders, youth ministers, school principals, directors of liturgy or music, etc.) will need theological formation as lay ecclesial ministers
  • Each area Catholic community will determine the best approach for staffing to meet the pastoral and spiritual needs of the area community
  • Every parishioner by virtue of their baptism has responsibility to carry out the priestly, prophetic and kingly roles in the parish and community

Guidelines for Area Catholic Communities:
  1. Weekly [Sunday] Mass will be available
  2. A liturgist to help plan liturgies and worship for the area
  3. ACC Pastoral Council meeting at least quarterly: helps develop a local pastoral plan that outlines priorities and goals for the area to be submitted to the planning office
  4. Faith Formation
    • Catholic Schools [if applicable]
    • Sacramental Prep
    • Elementary
    • Middle/High School
    • Adults
    • RCIA
  5. Business Manager for ACC
  6. Youth Ministry Process
  7. Social Justice Ministry
  8. Hispanic ministry [if applicable]
  9. Professional, formed staff according to norms articulated by diocese/USCCB

The seven elements of a vibrant parish (word, worship, community, service, leadership, stewardship and evangelization) will be present within each Area Catholic Community not necessarily within each parish.